Chocolate Burlesque Biscuits

A friend’s birthday last weekend – and one of my favourite occasions to bake for, a theme party. The theme was burlesque / Moulin Rouge, so I went to town with dark, sexy colours, intricate details, and a little bit of sparkle for added razzmatazz.

The biscuits were my chocolate sable recipe which you can find here, cut into fluted rounds, hearts, and a corset dress shape (which I adapted from an online print off like this one).

I topped them with thick royal icing, piping a stiff outline round the edge to get the shape, before flooding with more watered down icing.

Then it was onto the detail – I piped tiny spots, swirls, and stripes, all in a deep black, to give the look of seductive lace and fine details.

From tassels:

…to corsets..

… to feathers…

and intricate patterns everywhere:

As you may have guessed, I also got a bit trigger happy with the silver shimmer spray. By laying some mesh over the biscuits before spraying I created a fishnet style pattern across the edges (I used our (clean!) chip mesh basket to get the large net size).

I also used pieces of paper to section off some of the areas from the shimmer spray – like this belted corset dress:

Gift boxed, and ready to go:

Needless to say it was a fantastic party and there were some amazing costumes. Not really for me to share on here – but here’s a quick snippet of mine – I opted for a slightly more demure outfit of leopard print dress with matching fascinator – what you can’t see from this is my fishnet tights and heels!

One thought on “Chocolate Burlesque Biscuits

Leave a Reply

