Dulce de Leche Millionaire’s Shortbread

After making my banana and caramel cupcakes, I still had about half a tin of yummy dulce de leche caramel left. Whilst I was happily sneaking a tiny taste every time I went to the fridge, I decided it was probably time to use it for something more substantial.

You know those tubs of mini cake bites you get from the bakery section of the supermarket? Millionaire’s shortbread is my absolute favourite of these, I could happily eat a whole tub in one go!

And with the caramel layer ready-made – the rest is incredibly simple. I adapted Delia’s shortbread recipe, using cornflour instead of semolina, and scaling down as I was only making a small batch.
I used 50g plain flour, 30g cornflour, 50g butter and 30g golden caster sugar, which was the perfect amount for my little tiny tin.

You’ll also see I made it in a disposable foil tin – this was a cheap and easy way to bake and make the whole thing in one place, without having to worry too much about it sticking, or cleaning up afterwards!

Once the shortbread was cool, I simply spread the caramel on top, chilled, and topped with a layer of melted dark chocolate, before returning to the fridge.

I must confess that the minimal amount of photos is simply because I kept eating parts! The little foil tin made 12 cute little squares – well, only 5 even made it in front of the camera!

If you’ve never had them, I’d highly recommend giving these a try, they are simple and easy to make, but, as the name suggests, taste a million dollars! Buttery, crumbly shortbread, sticky, gooey caramel, topped with rich, dark chocolate. With all this sugar there’s a reason they only come in small bites – but I dare you to just stop at one 🙂

;

4 thoughts on “Dulce de Leche Millionaire’s Shortbread

Leave a Reply

