Flash Bang! Firework Pinwheel Cookie Pops

Happy bonfire night! Remember, remember the 5th of November…

I’m happy to say we got the whole bonfire and fireworks thing out the way on Friday night, leaving me to enjoy a Monday evening curled up on the sofa, munching happily on these pretty cookie pops I made over the weekend.

Originally I was going to make some iced cookies, but stumbled across pinwheels on the brilliantly named Rock ur Party. They are brilliantly simple to make, and I adapted slightly this recipe from bbc good food. The last link I have to share from you is the delight that is Sweetapolita – who reassures me that baking biscuits on sticks is perfectly normal!

Recipe
100g butter
100g caster sugar
1 tablespoon golden syrup
150g self raising flour
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
Pinch each of cinnamon and nutmeg

– cream together the butter and sugar
– beat in the syrup, vanilla and spices
– add half the flour, beat well
– add the remaining flour and mix to a stiff dough. You will need to roll your dough into balls so if it’s sticky, add a bit more flour)
– colour, decorate, sprinkle… and bake at 180 for 8-10 minutes (don’t over bake or the biscuit will be too crunchy and the bright colours will start to brown).

I chose to colour mine in all the shades of the rainbow, using and mixing all my gel colours to create 10 different colours.

I rolled each colour into little balls (about the shape of a small grape), and popped them into the fridge for 1/2 hour as they were getting a little sticky.

Next step was the most fun, combining the tiny balls into larger multicoloured ‘beach balls’ to make the coloured fireworks.

Mostly I used 4 colours per ball / cookie, but I experimented with some using 2 colours, and some using more. Honestly I found the less colours the better, it was a simpler but more well-defined firework pinwheel effect. (Don’t they remind you of the everlasting gobstoppers from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory?!)

Rolling the beach balls out into a thin sausage, and twisting…

…then curling the sausage around on itself to create the pinwheel (or catherine wheel if you are thinking in firework terms!)

Insert a paper lollipop/cake pop stick (not a plastic one as they’ll melt it the oven)

Than roll the edge in sprinkles, and too with more before baking, if desired. I used a mixture of sugar sprinkles, non pareils, sugar stars, and glitter sugars.

Once baked, I finished with a little shimmer spray and quick brush of edible lustre where needed. Ready to eat straight off the stick – yummy!

PS – it’s bakes like this when I’m very glad we have a dishwasher…

6 thoughts on “Flash Bang! Firework Pinwheel Cookie Pops

Leave a Reply

