Triple Chocolate Racing Car Biscuits

Last week we were invited by some friends to the race weekend at Donington Park. Despite the fact it’s only a few miles from our house, and I drive past every morning on my way to work, I’ve never actually been to see a proper race there.

It was brilliantly exciting – lots of different races, all with very noisy cars, and we even got to go on the grid before the start of the GT3 race!

I took the biscuits along as a thank-you present for the tickets and hospitality, and what better theme than race cars themselves.

Using the same butter biscuit recipe as my Hello Kitty biscuits, I adapted it slightly to make them smoothly chocolatey. This is quickly becoming my go-to biscuit recipe; they cut out and hold their shape wonderfully.

Ingredients (makes 15-20 small biscuits)

100g plain flour
25g cocoa powder
100g butter
50g icing sugar
1 egg yolk

Method

– mix together the flour, cocoa and icing sugar, before rubbing in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs
– add the egg yolk and mix into a ball of dough
– wrap in cling film and refrigerate for at least 15 minutes, until you’re ready to cut out the biscuits
– roll out to desired thickness and bake at 180 degrees C until crisp and even (should take around 7 – 10 minutes depending on the thickness of your biscuits)

I searched online for quite a while to find a good shaped car cutter, before stumbling across the great Denny and Sons website. Quite how they made money on selling me this cutter for 80p including postage I’ve no idea, but it was exactly what I wanted.

Once baked and cooled, I cut matching car shapes from chocolate fondant (I get mine from Hobbycraft).

To ensure the fondant stuck, I painted the biscuits with a thin layer of golden syrup:

Third on the chocolate list was some buttons! I laid them out and sprayed generously with my current favourite glitter product – Dr Oetker shimmer spray. It built up brilliantly to give a solid silver colour – you couldn’t tell they used to be chocolate buttons!

And to finish the biscuits – I gave them a quick brush with some water (to remove any icing sugar left from rolling out the fondant), which not only gave a shiny finish but made the icing just sticky enough to gently press on the chocolate buttons in place of wheels.

 

Not only do they look fab but the biscuits also taste great (crispy biscuit, soft fudgy icing, creamy chocolate buttons…) but they also travel and keep really well (in an airtight container).

9 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Racing Car Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Burlesque Biscuits « bakearama

  2. Pingback: Halloween Bat Biscuits « bakearama

  3. Pingback: Merry Christmas! Red Velvet & White Chocolate Santa Cookies | bakearama

Leave a Reply

