Happy Birthday to me! Fondant Stars Birthday Cake

20130219-194844.jpg

Yes that’s right – today is my birthday! There are 3 great rules at my office about birthdays:

1 – everyone has an extra day off on their birthday
2 – everyone chips in £5 for everyone else’s present, so everyone gets a present and by mutual agreement of everyone else, something that they like as well!
3 – everyone should bring a cake into their office around their birthday

So here is my contribution for this year – a luscious lemon cake adorned with bright fondant stars.

I used Nigella’s lemon loaf recipe, baked into an 8 inch round for prime birthday cake shape!

20130219-195303.jpg

Once cool, I coated and topped with a thick layer of vanilla buttercream:

20130219-195415.jpg

– before covering in brightly coloured fondant stars. I love how this sounds such a simple step but took absolutely ages! About 2 hours of my Sunday night, albeit in front of the tv 🙂

20130219-195606.jpg

Of course they had to cover the cake all the way around and down – so I pre-cut some of the stars into segments, so they’d line up along the bottom edge.

20130219-195732.jpg

A brilliant shining sea of stars – with a little help from some silver shimmer spray!

20130219-195814.jpg

20130219-195841.jpg

It went down well – and quickly – in the office! Here is a sneaky slice adorning my desk –

20130219-195929.jpg

Happy birthdays all round – I’m off to enjoy the rest of my extra day away from the office!

13 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to me! Fondant Stars Birthday Cake

  1. happy birthday, o Baker of Wondrous Cakes!! you had me at the lemon pound cake – even before the awesome stars…wow…I can’t bake a thing. I just visit your blog to drool!! Enjoy the remainder of your special day…

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    I can well imagine the stars took forever. How great that you automatically get the day off for your birthday – what if it falls at the weekend though?

  3. Pingback: My favourite things | emiliahearts

  4. Pingback: Fondant Fancies & Afternoon Tea Party | bakearama

  5. Pingback: Cute as a Button! Petit Four Mini Cupcakes & Silicon Fondant Mould How-To | bakearama

  6. Pingback: Banana and Salted Caramel Birthday Cupcakes | bakearama

Leave a Reply

