Chocolate & Lemon Hearts

chocolate cupcakes egg and dairy free lemon icing yellow sugar sprinkles

Last night, amid a kitchen full of cake pops, I ended up with half a bowl of spare lemon buttercream. What to do…? I couldn’t throw it away; I shouldn’t eat it (although easily could have done!) so the only thing for it was to make some cupcakes to ice. It makes sense it my head.

I’ve got some more baking to do tonight – a good friend is having a big themed birthday party at the weekend – and haven’t got many eggs in the house. So, a quick look online found this super-quick, egg-free recipe. The cakes turned out so well I simply had to share it.

Recipe: (adapted from No Eggs!), makes 6 standard size cupcakes

75g self raising flour
10g cocoa powder
85g caster sugar
75ml milk (I used soya-milk, so dairy-free cakes too!)
40ml oil (the original recipe recommends corn, I only had olive, it worked fine)
1 tablespoon golden syrup
3/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
Pinch of salt

Method:

Sieve the flour and cocoa. Add the other ingredients. Beat well until there are no lumps! (It’s quite a liquid mixture, it won’t look as thick as a normal sponge).
Bake at 180 degrees for 10 – 12 minutes until risen and spongy when pressed (your finger shouldn’t leave a dent when you press). To get the shape I used a silicon hearts mould sprayed well with cake release.

Cool, and ice! As mentioned I used a lemon buttercream, and finished the cupcakes by dipping in yellow shimmer sugar.

chocolate heart cupcakes with lemon icing and sugar sprinkles egg and dairy free recipe

Aside from the fact that you really couldn’t tell it’s any different to a normal cupcake recipe, the thing I love best is that they come out so moist and light – look at that sponge!

soft moist airy well-risen inside of egg free cupcake recipe no dairy chocolate and lemon

Definitely one to keep on the quick list – especially as they can be mixed up so fast, and in one bowl.

heart shape chocolate cupcake with lemon icing and yellow sugar sprinkles

9 thoughts on “Chocolate & Lemon Hearts

  1. Those look delicious!
    I like that you used a heart-shape pan – I have a heart-shape pan myself and it’s fun to use – and I think that the yellow shimmer sugar was a nice finishing touch.

  2. Pingback: The Sound of Music Lemon Cake Pops – with Handy Hints! « bakearama

Leave a Reply

