Two Great Years – Vanilla and Chocolate Chip Anniversary Cake

I’ve been away a lot with work in the past couple of weeks (7 nights away out of the past 12, groan!) so decided a while back we’d have a nice little celebration cosied up at home, nice dinner, bottle of wine, Christmas film on the TV (can’t believe I’ve got my own way and started Christmas so early!) and rounded off with a big sticky cake.

Using the same number and letter cake pan as my 80th cake, I made a number 2 chocolate chip cake, in the slightly smaller size (you can either have the cake 5 or 7 ‘blocks’ tall). The other post explains it a little better – safe to stay I still love this tin!

I used a very basic sponge recipe and ramped it up with some vanilla and chocolate chips – it was very quick to make which was ideal as I wanted to keep the whole cake a secret.

– 100g butter
– 100g caster sugar
– 2 eggs
– 100g self raising flour
– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
– 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
– 100g chocolate chips

– beat together the butter, sugar, and vanilla
– beat in the eggs
– sieve the flour and baking powder into the bowl. Pour the chocolate chips on top of the flour, then slowly fold in, but don’t over-mix. Getting the chocolate chips covered in flour first helps to stop them all sinking to the bottom
– bake at 180 degrees for 15-20 minutes depending on the size and shape of tin. As the ‘thickest part’ of this cake was only about a couple of inches across, it didn’t take long to cook.

Once cooled, I covered in 2 thick layers of vanilla butter cream, refrigerating between and after the second one:

And to finish a thick layer of chocolate fondant. I’m the first to admit this is far from my best fondant work, made all the more difficult by trying to keep Rob out of the kitchen to keep the surprise. At one point I managed to poke myself in the face with a knife and tear a hole in the fondant in one fell swoop – cue lots of cursing!

Finally, onto the decoration. I’d been musing over this all day at work – sprinkles, sparkles, hearts, numbers, initials? But when I got home and a look through my (overflowing) box of cake supplies, I quickly settled on some leftovers of coloured fondant and a tiny heart plunge cutter. Simple and effective – and most importantly quick, Rob still didn’t know what was going on!

And the finished product! Rob loved it, although his first reaction was “I didn’t get you a present”. Luckily my quick reactions and no desire to stay in the kitchen any further, I managed to convince him that paying for a takeaway was all the present I need!

We even managed to sneak in a quick piece before the takeaway arrived… look at those chocolate chips!

So enjoy your evening while we enjoy ours curled up with cake – to finish here is one of my favourite pictures of Rob and I, taken on the beach in Blackpool, in December of 2010. Chilly but magical in the snow!

3 thoughts on “Two Great Years – Vanilla and Chocolate Chip Anniversary Cake

Leave a Reply

