Chocolate Courgette Muffins & Cupcake Wrapper Reviews

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be sent a selection of beautiful cupcake wrappers from Cupcake Chic – a new business started by an ex-colleague.

Of course this meant I had to bake some cupcakes to go in them (it’s a hard life, I know), and wanted to try using some of the big, fresh courgettes that my dad had grown in his allotment.

I’d love to share my exact recipe with you, but it was one of those it’s-too-thin-add-more-flour, too-thick-throw-in-some-yoghurt type bakes. So I couldn’t tell you exactly what went into the mix, but it was loosely based on this recipe. My main adaptations were: omitting the chocolate chips; using all wholemeal plain flour (instead of the 2 different kinds); and using normal (sweetened) apple sauce as a substitute for some of the sugar (I tasted at length to make sure it was right!)

As the recipe is quite dense they don’t rise much – but you get cute little chocolatey muffins that are not only low-fat but also contain some of your five-a-day.

I topped them with low-fat caramel cream cheese frosting. If you haven’t seen my post on this recipe yet then be sure to check it out! It’s the stickiest, yummiest icing I’ve made in a long time; low-fat, and sets quickly so good for warm weather, long car journeys etc.
Plus, you get the fun of boiling up caramel  – just seeing this photo makes me want to make it (and eat it) all over again!

I piped the icing onto the muffins using a star nozzle, then topped with a sprinkle of chocolate flakes.

And with that the cupcakes muffins were done! A dense, fudgy chocolate base, topped with a sweet, creamy icing, and all amazingly low-fat.

Next step – cupcake wrappers! I had a couple of full packs (they come in sets of 12) to play with, plus a lot of other samples.

Basically they are intricately cut pieces of card, perfectly sized to fit around your cupcake. By far the best way is to assemble them  first, then carefully lower your cupcake in the middle.

The wrappers come flat packed as above – so they are great to have sent through the post and fit easily through the letterbox.

Assembling them is really simple – just tuck the small flap at the back into the pre-cut slot. They hold together really well so you don’t need to use any glue, they won’t fall off!

Then the world is really your oyster – I tried them out an a cupcake stand, on flat surfaces, against different backgrounds…

The good thing about these designs is that you can see the original cupcake case through them – so these red cases with gold wrappers would be great for a wedding colour theme. (This wrapper is Gold Ivy Vine)

The designs also come in a variety of colours, so you could mix them up this way. (These are Gold Ivy Vine and Plum Filigree wrappers, but both styles come in other colours)

As for the other wrappers – well, I really struggle to pick a favourite! These 3 are my wedding recommendations – how cute are the birdcages? But then the hearts… and the butterflies…

The coolest by far has got to be this halloween wrapper – can someone have a halloween party just so I’ve got an excuse to make some cupcakes for it? I’ve even planned on glow-in-the-dark cupcakes already!

So my verdict? As you can see, I had a lot of fun playing with these cupcake wrappers. They are a great way to jazz up displays, stands, stalls etc, and quite cheaply too. Definitely worth a try if you are making cupcakes for a wedding, birthday, christening or other party, as they will really look the part and tie the cakes into the event.
They’re a good thickness of cardboard so would last well, but I wouldn’t recommend having the frosting or cake touching the wrapper itself, as eventually it would probably start to go a bit soggy from the moisture.

Although I’ve not got much day to day use for them – they will still be safely stored to use for in future cupcake photo shoots – watch this space! Thanks to Cupcake Chic for introducing me to such a pretty (and simple) way to spruce up cupcakes 🙂

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Courgette Muffins & Cupcake Wrapper Reviews

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Orange Cobweb Cupcakes « bakearama

Leave a Reply

