Lemon and Ginger Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

I have a confession to make. I’m not a real blonde. Worse still, I really should be.

These cupcakes were made for the Nottingham City WI‘s Summer Fete this weekend. I was extra excited because finally, after months of blogging and talking on blogs, I was going to meet some girls who live locally, and love cake etc. as much as I do.

So, off I trotted, cakes in hand, feeling a little bit like a child on the first day of school. When I reach the venue and tried the door, a woman outside having a coffee told me they were closed.
“But” I said, “isn’t there a function upstairs today, I thought it started at 11?” (It was about 11.30am at this time).
“Erm – who is the function for?” the lady replied.
“The WI…”
“Oh, that was yesterday.”

ARGH!! Having learnt how to read before I even went to school (my mum is a teacher), you’d have thought that with 20+ years practice I’d be able to do it faultlessly now. Apparently not; even a day and date on an invite is too much for me. I was so cross with myself, and have spent most of the rest of the day in a grump.

Nevertheless – some beautiful cupcakes came out of it, and I have plenty of family and friends willing to gobble them up.

When I was deciding what to bake, I wanted something fresh and simple, that would hopefully stand up to this sticky weather we’re having.

What could be more fresh and cake friendly than some lovely juicy lemons!

The recipe was a simple victoria sponge, with the rind and juice of one lemon thrown in. At the last minute I decided to add a little kick, and put in a teaspoon full of ground ginger. Fresh and zingy!

The icing was whipped low fat cream cheese, juice and rind of another lemon, and thickened up with icing sugar.

I also mixed up some icing sugar separately with some yellow food colouring, which I used to pipe the swirls and zigzags on top. Although the heat melted them out some what (they did start as nice crisp lines, honest!), I quite like the melted-in look.
I also love the way that the yellow icing looks like lemon curd, when it’s actually the only bit that doesn’t have any lemon in!

To top them off, I added a few curls of lemon peel, and finally had an excuse to use the gold glittery sugar stars which I bought in Bath a few months back.

So. No lovely pictures of the summer fete and my cakes being enjoyed by an adoring public. But luckily I’d snapped a fair few in the kitchen before leaving, so, enjoy…

And here they are, all boxed up and ready to go – you can see a couple of them had already started to fall out of shape, it was warm this morning (still no sunshine but that’s a different grumble altogether),

And to finish – WP kindly uploaded this photo when I didn’t really mean it too (it was in the same folder as the others), but it’s so cute that I can’t help but share it.
In remedy from my grumpiness we went for Starbucks on the way home. Pepper was very disappointed that I didn’t save her any 😉

3 thoughts on “Lemon and Ginger Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. Pingback: An Afternoon at White Rabbit « bakearama

Leave a Reply

